It’s Friday, a few random thoughs out of boredom

My morning ritual is pretty standard:  Start the alarm at 6:40 and hit snooze a few times so that by 7:20 I’m ever so slightly more rested and still have enough time to get ready for work.  But today that hitting of the snooze button had me waking up at 8:05.  Not plenty of time to get ready. 

Of course, I was less than 15 minutes early to work, but that’s not the point. 

The cool thing about my bus ride is that it takes the express lane on the freeway and then pulls into the bus tunnel, so it has practically no traffic to contend with.  The thing that’s not cool about getting out at the bus station is that the escalator is single file.  Those who know me probably know I’ve a bit of a pet peeve about people standing on escalators during peak commuting hours.  I’ve calmed on that issue a lot, but it’s still a bit annoying to me when some punked out hungover couple practically sprints to be the first one off the bus only to slowly stagger and wobble their way over to the escalator where they make the rest of us stand.  A minor petty annoyance, but narcissists bother me. 

But, despite all those things, this has been a really good day.  My company’s monthly casual Friday, no complaints there.  Perfect weather for drinking, looks like it’s going to be a beautiful weekend.  And, like with any good weekend, I’m going into it with no plans. 

Well, that’s not completely true.  Saturday at Midnight I’m going to Cinemapocalypse: a travelling exhibition of exploitation films, b-movies, that kind of thing.  

Oh, also, did you all know that Salvador Dali made a film?  Yeah, “Un Chien Andalou”.  It’s very bizarre and I don’t quite get it, but it’s pretty amazing to watch and I think you all should.  If for no better reason than the extended boob-groping sequence.   YouTube seems to have the video in two parts.  Sadly, though, my work computer doesn’t have speakers so I have no clue how the sound quality will work out.   But it’s free, whereas I’ve $0.20 in late fees. 🙂

-Z

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

